Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
HIGHLAND GAMES BRESSUIRE, le blog français-anglais d'Alain Cadu
15 avril 2015

The 12 champions 9- Jono Macfarlane, the compulsive thrower

Jono MACFARLANE from New-Zealand is a true compulsive thrower.

He throws weights, stones, cabers and hammers but not only....

Twice in the Guiness book after throwing a person and a washing machine

He is also the current Guinness World Record Holder for the Longest Throw of a Person (2009, 4.87m).

And until recently he was the holder for Longest Throw of a Washing Machine (2009, Broken by Hafthor 'The Mountain' Bjornsson)
 

 And yet, this man is particularly quiet and peaceful in his everyday life. Just read his latest mail to the blogger:

"I live in Wellington, New Zealand, having moved 12 years ago to NZ from my birthplace of South Africa. I am trained as a baptist pastor, but am presently taking a break from the ministry and working as a truck driver.

I have an American-born wife, Lauren, and a nearly 2 year old son, Jack. My spare time is then spent mostly with my family, my church family and training"

It just proves that being a baptist pastor and a truck-driver in New Zealand doesn't prevent you from being a Guiness book record-holder and a Highland Games champion.

jono56More about Jono

  • Age: 27
  • Size: 6'5/1.95m
  • Weight: 145kg/320lbs

Jono's essential victories or titles:

  • Highland Games: New Zealand Highland Games Champion 2014 and 2015
  • Strongman: New Zealand Strongest Man 2007. 2nd in Oceania Strongest man 2009.
  • Shot Put, Powerlifting, Olympic Weightlifting: New Zealand Junior Champion i

His Personnal bests:

  • Open stone: 51'1
  • 20lb Braemar: 42'11 (in training)
  • 16 hammer: 119'8" bladeless
  • 22 hammer: 93' bladeless
  • 28 Weight for distance: 73'2
  • 56 Weight for distance: 38'7
  • weight for height: 16'

His ambitions for the Worlds

"I must be realistic in my first worlds. As you can tell by my distances, I will not be in the top 3.

However, at 27 and having never focused on Highland Games as my primary sport, I can only get better.

jet0001_23I am thankful to the IHGF and Bressuire Highland Games for this tremendous opportunity, and I will do my best to perform well. I will be hoping to achieve new personal bests in almost all events. I hope to get a top 10 placing, a feat I know which will be harder than winning our National Championship.

One thing I also hope to do, is provide a good show for the crowd, and to entertain. If I can throw my best, and give the crowd a good experience, I will be happy".

A few words about Bressuire

"Living in New Zealand, I believe I come from the most beautiful country on earth.

I am told France, and the Bressuire region may be just as good, so I must see for myself!

I cannot wait to experience the French culture, and to be amongst those who love the Scottish Highland Games.

The organisation from the Bressuire Committee has been excellent, and so I imagine the games will be of similar standard."

Thanks to Matt Rossiter for his photos.

See you soon for the French version

Alain CADU

EXTRA THROWS: Jono on the net

Jonathan Macfarlane has a strong arm, but instead of throwing balls, he's more experienced in throwing people. Macfarlane holds two records - one for throwing a person (4.87 metres), and the other a washing machine (4.015m), the furthest distance. He broke both records in 2009 and Andrew Rainford sacrificed his bones when he volunteered to be the object of Macfarlane's throw.

http://www.stuff.co.nz/national/videos/5985978/New-Zealand-world-record-breakers

Jono Macfarlane and his washing machine

 Record attempt: Furthest Throw of a Washing Machine

Previous World Record: Held by Australian Bill Lyndon, at 336 cms.

Record smashed: Jono smashed the previous world record by throwing a washing machine an amazing 401.5 cms!     

Profile:

At only 22 years of age Jono Macfarlane has already amassed an impressive powerlifting and strongman resume.

The 145kg powerhouse has seven titles in shot put, hammer throwing and Olympic weightlifting. He was crowned New Zealand's strongest man in 2007 and runner up in 2008, and dreams of becoming the World's Strongest Man.

He says his greatest strength is "remaining calm under pressure." 

"If something can be done, I will be able to dig deep and finish the task."

Jono Macfarlane throwing Andy Rainford

 Record attempt: Furthest Throw of a Person

Record previously held by: Juha Rasaanen (Finland) threw a 60 kg person 5.4mtrs

Record smashed: Jono threw Andy an incredible 5.69 metres.

Well done Jono!

Profile:

At only 22 years of age Jono Macfarlane has already amassed an impressive powerlifting and strongman resume.

The 145kg powerhouse has seven titles in shot put, hammer throwing and Olympic weightlifting. He was crowned New Zealand's strongest man in 2007 and runner up in 2008, and dreams of becoming the World's Strongest Man.

He says his greatest strength is "remaining calm under pressure." 

"If something can be done, I will be able to dig deep and finish the task."

COMING SOON: Jono's portrait in French

Don't miss that!

Commentaires
HIGHLAND GAMES BRESSUIRE, le blog français-anglais d'Alain Cadu
  • Highland Games, ça lance et ça balance! Bressuire, France: the place to be in June 2022 for our IHGF Highland Games. Caber, hammer, stone and weight: Ready, steady, throw! Marteau, pierre, tronc et poids:A vos marques, prêts, lancez
  • Accueil du blog
  • Créer un blog avec CanalBlog
Visiteurs
Depuis la création 392 302
HIGHLAND GAMES BRESSUIRE, le blog français-anglais d'Alain Cadu
Newsletter
Derniers commentaires
Archives
Pages